1.0

b1-typography-letters-and-counters

For task 1 I had to (using specific fonts, sizes, colour, etc) Produce nine dynamic compositions exploring the individuality and nuances of typefaces. I had done a similar task during my second year of college, that task was aimed at working working at a university level, which helped a lot during this task. https://www.behance.net/gallery/21030537/Chris-Keeble-

A link to the work I did during college.

I didn’t find the task difficult since I had an understanding of what to do, I only read the brief once and ended up going off and exploring, and doing what I wanted since I done it before. This led to some pretty interesting designs. My favourite ones are the set of 3 which are outlined in black, to me they look professional, clean and simple.

Creating a piece of work which is simple and clean looking, by clean I mean something that’s sharp, eye catching and makes you want to look at it for a while so you understand how it was created.

For the second task we were tasked with producing nine dynamic compositions exploring the counterforms of a selected typeface. Since I had already explored and created designs during the first task, I didn’t feel the need to create more, partly down to my own laziness but also feeling confident about the task and what was required from.

jhw-recovered

J H W Three initials from my partners name, here I made 10 possible font faces for my partners monogram, using the research I found from a lovely 1 to 1 interview. Doing this sort of interview was pretty fun, getting to know new people from my class was very enjoyable, everyone usually breaks off into the social groups, or people they’ve met during enrolment or people who live in the same halls. So getting to know Jess was very interesting, you usually judge people pretty quickly form just their appearance, so once I got talking to Jess, it was nice to get to know her  and find out about her interests which inspired me to pick the middle left font, and develop it further.

 

 

Leave a comment